Trough Creek

Image

Last Saturday our nature photography class traveled to Trough Creek near Altoona.  As we waited to board the shuttle the city looked like it was inside a snow globe and I hoped the weather was the same at Trough Creek.  I wasn’t disappointed.  I was excited at the opportunity to photograph the forest with falling snow.  When we got to Trough Creek I took the trail to Rainbow Falls and spent a lot of time photographing the water.  I worked with long exposures again and got the shot I posted above.  It is my favorite photograph I’ve taken so far this semester.  As I kept climbing up past the falls I found a rock overhang that had hundreds of icicles hanging from it.  It was challenging getting the shots I wanted because it was so dark under the rock, but I did get a few that I’m satisfied with.

I continued down the trail following the creek and found a tunnel with water flowing through it.  Initially I wanted to keep man made structures out of my photos but I loved the way the tunnel created a frame for the water and the rocks behind it.

I came to a fork in the trail and took the Ledges Trail which was a steep trail using rocks as stairs.  When I got to the top there was an overlook where I could see the forest below filling with snow. It felt like I was in Narnia.

For the remainder of the hike I focused on textures of rocks, branches and bark.  I’m considering making “textures” the theme of my portfolio. I’d love some feedback on this idea.

Overall, I was really happy with the photos I took at Trough Creek.  I expected the snow to make everything look the same but I found a lot of variety there.  I ended up with about 30 photos that I liked from the trip and had to narrow my selections down.  I would love to make a trip to Trough Creek in the summer and compared my images.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.